Elections – Spring 2020

The spring election candidates for the Madison School Board, clockwise from the upper left, are: Seat 6, Karen Ball, Christina Gomez Schmidt and Maia Pearson; Seat 2 special election, Savion Castro; and Seat 7, Nicki Vander Meulen and Wayne Strong (as of 1/9/2020 Strong withdrew his candidacy). Photo credit: Wisconsin State Journal.

Mark your calendars:

Spring Primary Election Day

Tuesday, February 18

Spring General Election & Presidential Primary

Tuesday, April 7


Who is MTI-Voters?
MTI-Voters is the political action committee of MTI that seeks to identify those candidates most likely to advance policies supported by the members of MTI, policies that support MMSD staff and students, and advance the quality of public education in the District. The MTI-Voters Committee is a representative body of MTI members, comprised of the Presidents of each MTI bargaining unit, the MTI Treasurer and nine (9) others elected by MTI’s Faculty Representative Council. This member-comprised committee, guides MTI’s political endorsement process and advances recommended endorsements to the thousands of MTI members who contribute to MTI Voters and vote on endorsement recommendations.

This spring we have an opportunity to elect candidates who support and value public education. When voters turnout in high numbers, public education wins!

Below is a list of candidates MTI Voters Political Action Committee will be interviewing for consideration in our endorsement process. Candidates have been asked to complete and return questionnaires by January 17. Visit this page again for the most up to date information.


Candidate / Office Questionnaire 

Madison School Board

Savion Castro
School Board Seat 2                                                (1 year term to complete Burke’s resigned seat)
MTI Candidate Questionnaire
Karen Ball
School Board Seat 6
MTI Candidate Questionnaire
Maia Pearson
School Board Seat 6                            
MTI Candidate Questionnaire 
Christina Gomez Schmidt
School Board Seat 6
MTI Candidate Questionnaire
Wayne Strong
School Board Seat 7
Withdrew his candidacy
Nicki Vander Meulen
School Board Seat 7 (Incumbent)
MTI Candidate Questionnaire

Justice of the Supreme Court (10-year term)

Daniel Kelly
Wisconsin Supreme Court Candidate (Incumbent)
MTI Candidate Questionnaire

Edward A. Fallone      Wisconsin Supreme Court Candidate

 MTI Candidate Questionnaire
Jill Karofsky
Wisconsin Supreme Court Candidate 
MTI Candidate Questionnaire
Early voting is available at all Municipal Clerk Offices. The links below will provide the details on early voting where you live.

Bring a proper Voting ID:  www.bringit.wi.gov

Voting Information

NOTE: A valid Voter ID is required to vote (details at the link, goes to Wisconsin GAB Website)

Voter ID Information: City of Madison

How to obtain a Free Wisconsin ID for Voting: Click Here!


My Vote Wisconsin – Check your registration status, find your polling location and obtain a personalized sample ballot

Registering to Vote in Madison
Request an Absentee Ballot (City of Madison Only)

Registering to Vote (Dane County)

Registering to Vote (Wisconsin)

Wisconsin GAB – Voter Information Center
Information and Frequently Asked Questions

Absentee and Early Voting Information

Other Related Links:

School Board Policies Regarding Political Action